Divorce And Healing: Grief Stages

conversation starters with your crush

When people lose someone they love, it’s natural for them to go through different phases of mourning. Divorce proceedings, like any other traumatic event, can set off the grieving process.

Understanding the phases of sorrow can be a huge help during the grieving process. Why? It serves as a constant reminder that you are not alone.

Going through a divorce might seem a lot like losing a loved one. Consider that for a moment. You’ve spent a lot of time with this individual and have created a life together. You might have children or even grandchildren. You’ve grown up together and shared a lot of things.

And now your relationship has abruptly ended.

Every partnership and individual is different when it comes to divorce. However, the majority of people will go through five stages. Our explanation of the stages of grief is as follows: divorce.

Grief’s Five Stages: Divorce


You might believe your partner will alter their mind if you weren’t the one who started the divorce. Or hope they’re just going through a midlife crisis and will recover.

And if you initiated the breakup, you may find it difficult to accept that the relationship is gone. Or you’re having trouble accepting that there’s no turning back. It’s never easy to let go of love, no matter which side you’re on.

This is how denial appears.

Denial might help you cope with the shock and grief of your relationship ending. It’s your body’s method of providing temporary protection as you adjust to your new reality.

However, you must finally go past the stage of denial in order to begin to recover.


Both parties to a divorce may be angry, both at themselves and at each other. There are numerous explanations for this rage.

Perhaps your boyfriend was unfaithful to you. Alternatively, you may hold your partner responsible for your regrets or unrealized ambitions. Perhaps you’re just frustrated that things haven’t gone as planned, and your partner is the easiest person to point the finger at.

Additionally, you may be angry as a result of the divorce procedure. Divorce filing and settlement can be a time-consuming and emotional process. Even if you’re ending things on a positive note, you’ll probably have some frustrations along the way.

Allowing these frustrations to take over is not a good idea. Instead, take a few deep breaths and take a break. Choosing the high road can be difficult, but you’ll be glad you did in the end.


Bargaining can manifest itself in a variety of ways during the phases of grieving, divorce, and other life events. It could be a last-ditch effort to save the relationship by pledging to do whatever the other person wants.

It could also be an attempt to release guilt if someone feels they are to blame for the marriage’s demise. They could accomplish this by awarding the other party a larger portion of the settlement than they are entitled to.

Bargaining is just a means for people to reclaim control over a situation that feels completely out of their control. It’s natural to feel like you’ve lost control of the reins when you’re transitioning from a pair to an individual.

Remind yourself that this is a normal reaction to the circumstances. It will, too, pass.


This might be one of the most difficult stages of divorce bereavement.

Everything is probably sinking in at this point. Your marriage has come to an end. You can be embarrassed about your new status as a divorcee. Maybe you’re lost and don’t know what to do or where to go next.

It can be difficult to cope with these emotions. But keep in mind that, given your circumstances, they’re completely typical. It’s important to remember that this is all part of the healing process.

People deal with their sadness in a variety of ways. Some people put their whole heart and soul into their work. Others recoup and enter a committed relationship. And some people may begin to drink or party in order to distract themselves from how they are feeling.

What is our recommendation? Assemble a group of people who you care about and who care about you. Spend some time getting to know yourself and practising self-care. Consider joining a support group or seeking treatment.

The discomfort should subside with time.

Grief’s ultimate stages, divorce, and acceptance

You’ve arrived at the end of the process. To get here, there is no one-size-fits-all solution. Everyone’s divorce experience is unique and acceptable.

Acceptance refers to a state of mind in which you are at ease with your surroundings. You’re not attempting to flee or hide any longer. You’re prepared to take on this challenge. And, more significantly, you’ll be able to overcome it.

Grief stages in divorce can be difficult and stressful. But keep in mind that you will get over this. Millions of people have survived and prospered after going through a divorce.

Allow yourself to let go of any tensions you’ve been carrying and choose to go forward. After a divorce, there is still life. Perhaps one that is even more beautiful than you can conceive.

About the Author

5 thoughts on “Divorce And Healing: Grief Stages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like these